Skip to content

livingtwisted

The scoliosis saga

I’ve finally had time to make it through the Schroth Textbook. I can’t say I read it cover to cover, but I read everything that pertains to my particular brand of scoliosis. I don’t feel comfortable selecting specific exercises and training myself on them. But the book did give me a better overall understanding of the general principles and approach. What I found most interesting is that on a very stripped down level there is a pattern to the Schroth method that is very similar to that in the CLEAR method. The specifics of the treatment are different but the three key phases that CLEAR focuses on and uses to market their treatment are also present in Schroth…

Schroth vs. CLEAR

  1. lengthening / mobilization vs. Mix
  2. shaping exercises vs. Fix
  3. isometric strengthening vs. Set

This makes a lot of sense to me and I’m excited to learn more, but what I found most helpful for the present were some general guidelines for daily life. These are much easier to put into practice right away and I’m really glad to have a set of rules to follow instead of making up what I think is good or bad for me. Here is a list of things I am trying to stick to.

  • Never lie on my rib hump (right) side. Even with a pillow under it to push the curve toward the center, it is causing the rib cage to widen under the pressure.
  • When sitting cross legged, place the leg from the concave side (left calf) on top of the leg of the convex side (right calf). This is the opposite of my usual pattern, but when I switch it I can definitely feel my concave side open up.
  • When standing, shift my weight to the concave side (I tend to carry my weight on the convex side)
  • Avoid bending or rotating the rib cage in any direction. Even bending or twisting in the direction against the curve will still result in exaggerating the present hills and valleys. All stretches should elongate and shift, but not bend.

This is in addition to a few other postural changes from Beatriz and Gez…

  • When standing, shift my hips to the right, keep my ears over my heels, and keep my right shoulder down and back.
  • When sitting, rest on the left arm rest.

The only exercises I have adopted from the book for now are for my feet. Beatriz had pointed out that I have a bunion forming on my left foot and that I need to stretch my big toe every day. I have been doing that and I also bought toe spacers. But there are two easy exercises in the book that strengthen the arches and alleviate hallux valgus so I’ve been incorporating those as well.

I was hoping the book would go more into proper breathing with a brace. I think I’ll reach out to Beatriz and see if she has any new tips for me for the brace until I get up to see her in March.

Tags: ,