Skip to content

livingtwisted

The scoliosis saga

This week I went to see an allergist to get tested for the most common metal allergies. I’ve had skin reactions to earrings in the past so if I’m going to have a back full of rods and screws I want to be sure I’m not going to have a reaction that leaves me miserable and requires a second surgery for hardware removal. And it turns out I was right! I am severely allergic to nickel which is a common allergy among the metals and often surfaces from a reaction to cheap jewelry. This type of reaction is called contact dermatitis. It doesn’t guarantee you will have a reaction to implants too, but better safe than sorry!

In talking to different surgeons different types of instrumentation have been mentioned, including cobalt chromium, stainless steel, and titanium. All are alloys that contain other trace elements. According to Wikipedia, cobalt chromium and stainless steel usually contain some nickel, but titanium may not…
Titanium
Stainless Steel
Cobalt Chromium

I will of course confirm exactly what is in any instrumentation with my surgeon. And I don’t plan to base my surgeon decision on the type of instrumentation they usually use, but instead choose my surgeon, and then be sure they understand my allergy and are comfortable adjusting to a different type of instrumentation if necessary. Now that I know I have at least one metal allergy, I’m thinking I may even get tested for any additional metals in whatever instrumentation is recommended

On a side note, the allergist also tested me for all the common airborne allergies like pollen, dust, mold, and pets, and all were negative! This is what I was expecting but it helps confirm for me that all my head issues are migraine related, not allergy related. Although he made a point to say it doesn’t mean that I wouldn’t still react to pollution or other direct irritants in the air, and things did get worse about a year after moving to LA. One mystery solved, but many more remain…