Skip to content

livingtwisted

The scoliosis saga

Last week I spoke on the phone with Dr. Weinstein in Iowa, the last opinion I will be seeking. While we haven’t met in person, he reviewed all my studies and asked me all the usual questions about my history with scoliosis. He came to the same conclusion as all the other surgeons — that I have all the indications for surgery. He made a point to say that that doesn’t mean that I have to to do anything. Its possible that I won’t ever need surgery, and some people do choose to hold out as long as they possibly can. But on the other hand, he agreed that for the least risk and best outcome, sooner is better than later.

He saw it as a straightforward posterior selective thoracic fusion, and opposed the notion of a minimally invasive approach. I asked if he felt it was worth traveling to him or any other top guys in the country, and while he said we would be happy to treat me, he actually recommended against it. People travel for surgery for a variety of reasons, he said, including to LA. But he didn’t see any benefit that outweighs the comfort and support system of home, and the reassurance that your surgeon is nearby if needed.

He left me with the names of what he would consider to be the top scoliosis surgeons in California (by reputation, not by personal experience):

  • David Skaggs, LA
  • Serena Hu, San Francisco
  • Peter Newton, San Diego
  • Behrooz Akbarnia, San Diego

I told him my reservations about Dr. Skaggs’ practice being focused on kids and teens, and he didn’t see that as a concern. The surgery is the same, he said, and any good doctor is conscious of their individual patient’s needs. And since I’ve already met with Dr. Skaggs and liked him, and he is the closest to me, I’ve come to the conclusion that WE HAVE A WINNER! I’ve contacted his office to get the ball rolling. Holy expletive, I think I’m doing this.